“We had our eye on Henry,” NZ all-rounder Henry Shipley earns maiden call-up for India and Pakistan ODI series


After the two Test matches, New Zealand will play Pakistan in a three-match ODI series before touring India for three additional ODIs and three T20Is beginning January 18.

Team New Zealand have announced their ODI squad for the series against India and Pakistan, and have made major changes considering the planning and management for the ICC World Cup 2023.

Uncapped player Henry Shipley, who has never played for his country, received his first call-up after making an impression on the domestic circuit.


“Henry’s an exciting talent who we’ve had our eye on for a while,” selector Gavin Larsen said. “He’s taken his game to another level in the past 12 months, and we’re delighted to see his progression given how valuable genuine all-rounders are in any cricket team. It’s encouraging to see players putting their hands up in our domestic competitions and their performances being rewarded with selection for the national team.

ODI squad: Kane Williamson (C – only for Pakistan ODIs), Tom Latham (C – India ODIs), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman (India ODIs only), Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy (India ODIs only), Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (Pakistan ODIs only)