Who is Rahul Narwekar ? Newly elected Maharashtra assembly speaker

164 votes were cast in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate, while 107 were cast against him.

Today, when the special session of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly got underway following the installation of the new Eknath Shinde administration in the state, Rahul Narwekar was chosen as Speaker. 164 votes were cast in favour of the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate, while 107 were cast against him.

Before deciding to join the BJP ahead of the 2019 assembly elections, the newly elected MLA had previously been affiliated with the Shiv Sena and the Nationalist Congress Party. A year after Nana Patole resigned from his position as speaker to take the helm of the Maharashtra Congress, he was elected to fill the vacancy. A day before the Eknath Shinde government faces a floor test in the 288-member legislature, Rahul Narwekar was also chosen as speaker.

Five things to know about Rahul Narwekar, the new speaker for Maharashtra:

  • Rahul Narwekar, 45, is the son-in-law of Ramraje Naik-Nimbalkar, a top NCP official who currently serves as the speaker and head of the Maharashtra Legislative Council. Currently serving as a Colaba MLA is Narwekar. In the 2019 assembly elections, he defeated Ashok Jagtap, a candidate for the Congress.
  • The next speaker of Maharashtra is a lawyer by trade. He began his political career with the Shiv Sena and advanced to become the spokesperson for the Yuva Sena, the youth wing led by Aaditya Thackeray, the son of Uddhav Thackeray.
  • It’s interesting to note that Narwekar joined the Nationalist Congress Party after leaving the Shiv Sena in 2014, just before the Lok Sabha elections, and the BJP before the 2019 state assembly elections.
  • Narwekar ran for the Lok Sabha in 2014 from the Maval constituency as a member of the NCP, but the Shiv Sena’s Shrirang Appa Barne defeated him.
  • Samajwadi Party (SP) did not cast a vote against the BJP candidate throughout the session. During the head count, both of its MLAs, Abu Azmi and Raees Shaikh, remained seated. Notably, AIMIM did not vote against Narwekar of the BJP. Shah Farukh Anwar of the AIMIM, two MLAs from SP, and one MLA from the AIMIM all chose not to participate in the vote in the Assembly.