Take a look at the 29 states of India and its capital cities

Lets go alphabetical in order for an easy recall and quick read of the 29 states and capital cities of India.


India is a South Asian country and is also a sub-continent. It’s the second-most populous country in the world, the first being China. To the south is the Indian Ocean and to the southwest is the Arabian Sea with the Bay of Bengal to its southeast and to its west India shares borders with Pakistan. India has famous neighbors like China, Bhutan, and Nepal to its north. To its east are Bangladesh and Myanmar. The Maldives and Sri Lanka are in close quarters with India in the Indian Ocean not to forget the Andaman and Nicobar Islands have a common maritime border with Myanmar, Indonesia, and Thailand.

Indian states and their capitals are a very interesting general knowledge read. Let’s go alphabetical in order for an easy recall. A total of 29 states and 7 union territories form the Indian sub-continent.

  • Andhra Pradesh – Amaravati: Hyderabad got replaced by Amravati.
  • Arunachal Pradesh: Since April 20, 1974, Itanagar stands the capital and is the largest state in the Northeast.
  • Assam – Dispur: Earlier Shillong was the capital of Assam but in 1972 got replaced by Dispur.
  • Bihar – Patna: Ancient India’s Pataliputra is now modern India’s Patna.
  • Chhattisgarh – Atal Nagar: Capital Naya Raipur will be renamed as Atal Nagar in the dear memory of former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee.
  • Goa – Panaji: Panaji, also known as Panjim in English is one of the favorite beach destinations of India.
  • Gujarat – Gandhinagar: In 1960, the Indian state of Bombay was split into two states, Maharashtra and Gujarat. And Gujarat’s capital was named after Gandhiji.
  • Haryana – Chandigarh: It gets its name from the ‘Chandi Mandir’ temple.
  • Himachal Pradesh – Shimla / Dharamshala: In 2017, Dharamsala was finalized as its winter capital.
  • Jharkhand – Ranchi: Jharkhand is one of the richest mineral zones in the globe and has 40 percent of mineral and 29 percent of coal reserves.
  • J & K – Srinagar / Jammu: In Jammu and Kashmir, the ‘Darbar Move’ as in every year there is a shift of the secretariat and all other government offices from Srinagar to Jammu and vice versa.
  • Karnataka – Bengaluru: It is the ‘Silicon Valley of India’ because of its contribution to the nation’s leading information technology sector.
  • Kerala – Thiruvananthapuram: This city is built on seven hills, called as Thiru-Anantha-Puram, meaning ‘the town of Lord Anantha’.
  • Madhya Pradesh – Bhopal: In the 11th century, It was founded by King Bhoja. The city was renamed Bhopal.
  • Maharashtra – Mumbai: Mumbai is India’s commercial, financial, and entertainment capital.
  • Manipur – Imphal: Ima Keithal market in Imphal is one of the world’s only all-women-run marketplaces.
  • Meghalaya – Shillong: Shillong, the capital of Meghalaya, interestingly this state can be accessed from all sides.
  • Mizoram – Aizawl: It is the cultural and political center of Mizoram. The State Legislature is situated in Aizawl.
  • Nagaland – Kohima: Angami Naga tribe belongs to Kohima.
  • Odisha(Orissa) – Bhubaneshwar: Bhubaneswar, in 1948 replaced Cuttack as the capital of Odisha.
  • Punjab – Chandigarh: Chandigarh is a well-planned city in India.
  • Rajasthan – Jaipur: popularly called as the “Pink” city of Rajasthan.
  • Sikkim- Gangtok: The name Gangtok is derived from a Tibetan word, it means ‘hilltop’.
  • Tamil Nadu – Chennai: Chennai, formerly termed Madras Patnam, is over 380 years old. A fine and bustling industrial, business, and cultural center.
  • Telangana – Hyderabad: Telangana formed the 29th state of India on June 2, 2014. Is now a major hub for start-ups, IT, food tourism, and Agriculture. It’s the headquarters of Tollywood / Telugu Cinema.
  • Tripura – Agartala: Agartala’s name is Agar is a kind of oily valuable perfume tree, and tala, is a storehouse.
  • Uttar Pradesh – Lucknow: Lucknow is popularly known as ‘The City of Nawabs’. It is also known as the Golden City of the East, Shiraz-i-Hind, and the Constantinople of India
  • Uttarakhand – Dehradun: Dehradun finds its mention in Mahabharata and Ramayana. It is one of the oldest cities in India.
  • West Bengal – Kolkata: Kolkata until 1911, was the capital of India as the Britishers had prominent trade routes from there. With time Delhi was declared the capital of India.