NHA felicitates 1,000 doctors for their work with PM-JAY

Ayushman Bharat Utkrist Chikitsak Samman, an award for the top five doctors operating inside the Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY ecosystem, has been declared by NHA. Another honour is the Ayushman Bharat Utkrist Chikitsalaya Samman, given to the state’s top performing hospital that is an empanelled member of the Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY programme.


Around 1,000 doctors received awards from the National Health Authority (NHA) for their contributions to the Ayushman Bharat Pradhan Mantri-Jan Arogya Yojana (AB PM-JAY) programme and the fight against the coronavirus pandemic.

“On the face of it, the COWIN platform is the tech-backbone of India’s vaccination drive but in spirit it is the network of our doctors and medical professionals who have made the world’s largest vaccination drive successful. Our community of doctors have been instrumental not only in our fight against the pandemic but have also played a crucial part in ensuring the successful implementation of the key healthcare schemes like the Ayushman Bharat umbrella scheme PM-JAY,” said Dr RS, Sharma, CEO, NHA, in the fifth edition of regional review meeting called ‘Ayushman Sangam’ held in Pune, Maharashtra.

NHA recognised the accomplishments of western Indian states and union territories under the AB PM-JAY programme.


Ayushman Bharat Utkrist Chikitsak Samman, an award to recognise the top five physicians working inside the Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY ecosystem, was introduced by NHA to reward physicians participating in the programme and to encourage them to perform well. The Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY Fellowship was also announced, in addition to the Ayushman Bharat Utkrist Chikitsalaya Samman for the top performing hospital empanelled under Ayushman Bharat PM-JAY in each state. Five healthcare professionals will each get a grant for research purposes for a year under this programme.

All of these awards will be given out in September during AB PM-anniversary JAY’s celebration.