Droupadi Murmu takes the oath of office as president, becoming the country’s youngest and first tribal woman in that position

Not only is Murmu the first tribal person to hold the position of Rashtrapati Bhavan, but at 64, he would also be the youngest and first president of India to be born after Independence.


In the Central Hall of the Parliament, loud cheers greeted Droupadi Murmu as he took the oath of office for the nation’s highest constitutional position on Monday. Murmu is the country’s second female president, the first tribal woman to hold the top constitutional position, and the first leader to be born in an independent India.

In the illustrious Central Hall of Parliament House, Chief Justice of India NV Ramana took her oath to serve as the 15th President of India.

“Reaching the Presidential post is not my personal achievement, it is the achievement of every poor in India. My nomination is evidence that the poor in India can not only dream but also fulfill those dreams,” Droupadi Murmu said in her speech after the oath-taking.


President Murmu added that she is the nation’s first leader born in an independent India.

“I am the first President of the country who was born in independent India. We will have to speed up our efforts to meet the expectations that our freedom fighters had with the citizens of independent India,” she said.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by MPs, heads of diplomatic missions, governors, chief ministers, the outgoing president Ram Nath Kovind, vice president M Venkaiah Naidu, prime minister Narendra Modi, speaker of the Lok Sabha Om Birla, members of the Council of Ministers, and senior civil and military officers.

On Monday morning, Murmu left floral tributes at the Mahatma Gandhi memorial in Raj Ghat before of the swearing-in ceremony.

Murmu became the second woman and the first indigenous person to hold the top constitutional position on Thursday after defeating opposition presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha.

After earning more than 64% of the valid votes cast by MPs and MLAs, who make up the electoral college, Murmu defeated Sinha handily to win the election and succeed Ram Nath Kovind as the nation’s fifteenth president.

Sinha received 3,80,177 votes while Murmu received 6,76,803 votes. She will be the youngest President ever to hold the office and the first born after independence. She is the second female president, as well.